Keeping up with kids on wheels

The countdown to baby’s arrival continues. In the midst of this there’s the challenge of working from home during the school holidays to contend with. Now, a few weeks in, I’m getting used to having other people around all the time – though a tactical use of iPod and earphones helps when my son has friends around.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a misanthrope, not all the time any way, but this is the first summer when we’ve all been at home so much. My wife’s stopped working and her condition means we took an early holiday in May to avoid traveling, so we really have all been around most of the time.

One of the things I like about this (told you I wasn’t entirely misanthropic) is spending more time with my son, which this week has seen me become more active than I’ve been in a while.

Last week I removed the stabilisers on his bike, something I’d been meaning to do for a while, and we started practicing in the garden. This saw me pushing him up and down the garden, holding on at first, then letting go earlier and earlier. It was a real Kodak moment and a delight to see him realise he could cycle on his own. After two practices in the garden I took him down to the common near where we live to go on the flat gravel paths there.

That’s when I found out that kids on bikes can go quite fast without stabilisers, even when they’re only six. But he loves it and we’ve been out for rides every day since Tuesday. I started out wearing normal summer clothes with running shoes and by Friday had my full running gear on. At times, say on one of the downhill stretches, I had to try hard to keep up with him, then at other times I only had to walk to keep up with him and maybe push the bike along a bit.

But I don’t think I’ll get away with walking for much longer. At the moment we go out for 30-45 minutes, stopping for water breaks at one or other of the benches around the common and it won’t be long before the breaks become fewer, he becomes faster and I need to take a trip to the bike shop for one of my own.

2 responses to “Keeping up with kids on wheels

  1. Pingback: Returning to running « A Tangle Of Wires

  2. Pingback: Running and biking in the countryside « A Tangle Of Wires

Leave a Reply

