Bengali vocabulary – baby words

Slowly things are getting, if not back to normal, then into a new and interesting sort of routine. Currently it’s one where I don’t sleep for more than two to three hours at a stretch and combining words into coherent sentences is a bit of a challenge, but it’s certainly not dull and I find myself able to  leap towering nappies in a single bound.

A full post about the past nine days would either lapse into gooey-eyed cliche or underplay the change a new baby brings. Either way I’m not sure I could do it justice, not when sentences and time conspire against me.

But I do find myself with 10 minutes here and there before full-on baby duties call, so will make a stab at a short list of baby words. Suggestions for this came from my elder son (happy-tiger-food) and my wife (teddy-boy-book).

Baby – bacca
Happy – khusi
Smile – hasi
To shout, scream, yell – citkar kōra
To carry – bōhōn kōra
Sleep – ghum
To sleep – ghumano
To lull to sleep – ghum parano
To wake up – ghum bhanga
Incomplete sleep – ghumkature

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

