Channel 4 will have a 2011 Autumn Bollywood season

Love Aaj Kal film posterBetter late than never. It turns out Channel 4 hasn’t cancelled its Autumn Bollywood season after all.

Instead, somewhat later than usual, the countdown to Channel 4’s main Bollywood season of the year can begin as today the UK television station revealed the first films it will show.

The run of Channel 4’s Bollywood films will kick off in October with Love Aaj Kal, staring Saif Ali Khan and Deepika Padukone.

It will be followed by the critically aclaimed Love, Sex Aur Dhoka.

Channel 4 has yet to announce which Indian movies will be next in the run but hopefully there will be plenty more to come.

Last year the Autumn season ran to 17 films, ranging from glossy new wave masala (Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na) to gritty social comment (Firaaq) to impenetrable art house (Dhrupad).

10 responses to “Channel 4 will have a 2011 Autumn Bollywood season

  1. Thanks so much for this am very happy now cheered me up immensely on a dreary morning when I’m getting ready to go to the dentist!!!!

  2. Are any of the films going to be in Bengali do you know?

    • I haven’t seen any come up yet. But it’s probably unlikely as they tend to concentrate on Hindi films. I’ll keep an eye out for them though of course.

  3. Thanks. I enjoyed The Three Idiots last time on your recommendation.
    I find Hindi very very different to Bengali. I can’t follow anything of it at all. However many times I see the same ad…

  4. Aaj kal looks like the same as in Bengali – that’s why I got my hopes up!😦

  5. Glad to hear you enjoyed 3 Idiots. After 5 years or so of watching Hindi films I recognise a few words and phrases in that language, but not enough to be very useful. Though I do have the Teach Yourself Hindi book – and one day I may open it!

    Of course, I’d overlooked the fact Aaj kal can be read in Bengali too, sorry.

  6. Talking of Hindi, not sure if I said, I really recommend Dreaming in Hindi (by Katherine Russell Rich) Have you read it? I found it really helpful in terms of what happens in your brain when you learn Bengali. I’m writing 10 reflections inspired by the book, which has a lot about neurolinguistics as well as her experiences in Udaipur…
    http://mybangladiary.wordpress.com/dreaming-in-hindi/

  7. Also, doesn’t fit with my blog which is fairly narrow but this person sounds interesting!!

    http://royalsociety.org/exhibitions/one-culture/sunetra-gupta/

    • Thanks. Both Dreaming In Hindi and the Sunera Gupta talk sound very interesting. I’ll been following your recent post-trip flurry of posts on My Bangla Diary with interest, especially the Dreaming In Hindi ones.

      Hope the assessment day thing goes well this week.

      Dom

  8. Thanks can’t afford it this year but am hoping to find out something of use!

    Another, first break through for a gori blogger turned novelist!!

    The not so stylish publisher given title Henna for the Broken Hearted. (The blog is Diary of a White Indian Housewife).

Leave a Reply

